'81 Basketball, '95 Football Teams Headline Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees


On May 22, Saint Joseph Regional High School will recognize former student-athletes for their outstanding contributions on the field for the Green Knights with the second class of the school's Athletic Hall of Fame.

The Class of 2021 will consist of seven student-athletes, one of whom also captured a state title as a coach, as well as one coach, two teams and one contributoreach nominated through an online portal and confirmed by a committee of current and former athletic administrators.

“Given the successes of our past, the achievements recognized in our Athletic Hall of Fame are second to none,” said Director of Athletics Damion Logan '96. “The Class of 2021 brought the Green Knights to new heights and we're excited to celebrate the accomplishments of these 10 new inductees."

The Outstanding Athletes include John Bykowsky '69, Nick Gallo '98, Ron Girault '04, Yomar Gonzalez '04, Gene Katz '84, Paolo Mastropietro '82 and George Stewart '89.

Katz also coached the Green Knights to 100+ victories and a state title in hockey.

Frank Salvano, the winningest baseball bench boss in county history, will be as an Outstanding Coach.

The 1981 basketball team, SJR's first Jamboree champion, and the 1995 football team, the program's first to go undefeated, will also be honored as Outstanding Teams.

Gerry Carretta P '02, '07, long-time clothing supplier and game-day volunteer will be recognized as an Outstanding Contributor.

The Class of 2021 will be honored at an ESPYs-style awards ceremony with a cocktail hour in the school courtyard followed by program in Inserra Theater.

Tickets and sponsor opportunities online at sjrnj.org/ahof/. Seating is limited due to Covid-19 restrictions.